Barbados Golf Club
Golf For All


RBC Classic

Under bright and breezy conditions, the 2012 RBC Classic got off to a good start on Saturday 28th. January, with great expectations of keen competitive play from the field of over one hundred  players over the two days of the tournament.

At the end of the first day's play some familiar names were in the lead. James Johnson, Barbados's top player was holding first place with a 72, while young Donald Leacock (77) and Judd Cozier (78) were second and third respectively. The leader in the men's first flight (11-19 handicap)  was Mario Byer with a score of 86 and was being chased by three players who were tied in second place. In the Senior's Division, Michael Haynes led with a gross of 76 while Credon Walcott was one stroke back at 77.

In the Ladies' Division, Lyn DeCambra- Mcleod was the leading player in that field with a gross score of 82. 

James Johnson Wins

Play commenced at 7:00 a.m on day two with the final foursome teeing off at 12:50 p.m. The players enjoyed another pleasent day for golf, but at the end, James Johnson held his lead and was the winner of the seventh RBC Classic. Teenager Donald Leacock also continued his excellent play in the second round to claim second place with a gross score of 155 over the two days, eleven strokes behind Johnson.

Helen Foster Surged ahead

In the ladies' division, the leader on the first day, Lyn deCambra-Mcleod fell back to second place, being overtaken by the eventual winner, Helen Foster who scored 82 on the second day.

A win for 13 year old Spencer Smith

In the men's first flight (11 to 19 handicaps) young Spencer Smith at 13 years old secured the W in his division, beating out Mario Byer. Both gentlemen scored 167 gross over the two days however Smith was adjudged the winner on a countback. Credon Walcott, Michael Haynes and Rickey Skeete won first, second and third places respectively in the seniors division. The tournament also featured a Stableford competition for players with handicaps of 20 and over. The ladies winner was Zarena Belgrave while Clennel Goodman took home the prize in the men's division. 


Date updated: 29-Jan-2012

Read more news...
© 2016 Barbados Golf Club | Site Map
Membership Advantages | Join The Club